Monday, January 7, 2013

GUESS WHOS BACK


Me. It's me, I'm back.


I had the most electric time at home seeing the famalam, friends and that. 

SHOUTS TO THE GANG. 

As I mentioned on Facebook, my body rejected being home. I left NY in tip top shape, but 2 weeks in England, and I gained about 5 stone, didn't go one day without a drink, sat on my glasses, smashed a windo, sliced open my hand, hurt my knee, dropped my camera and scratched my phone. And ALL ON THE SAME DAY. Not really, but whats a christmas holiday without a little bit of bleeding your own blood eh? I had an incredible time, didn't get to see everybody I wanted to, but 2 weeks didn't seem long enough and everybody has grown up now and have lives to live or someshit. 
My super secrety plan of bringing the gang up to New Years didn't go as I originally planned, but I think it worked out for the best (for me anyhow) because I got to see all the bestest people all in one place. 
New Years eve entertainment was created and re-worked all on the 31st but I thought it turned out to be manic but hilarious as always. Job done. 

Being home gave me a wake up call of some description though. I was asked again and again about my NY adventures and every time found myself dumber than I would have liked. The realisation that I had lived in the city that never sleeps for approx 4 whole months and had achieved relatively little rattled me. It took me by the proverbial shoulders and shook me, slapped my metaphorical face and looked me right in the figurative eyes. 

I must allow myself a little credit, doing schooly things, like the play and suchwhich and having mono/pneumonia/chlamydia didn't help because I just lay in bed for weeks BUT excuses excuses. I still feel like I need to achieve more. My first 4 months went by in a sexy flash, so I really have to grab the next 5 by the short and curleys and twist, so all that cultural goodness oozes out. How exiting.
SO, my new years resolution is to do something i'm proud of every week.

At first it was "take more chances" to get myself out of my comfort zone but that doesn't sound right. I'm already out of my comfort zone being here, and doing this so that makes no sense. Plus, I actually want New York to become more of a comfort zone fore me... if you know what I mean. 
I've never been to central park. The Guggenheim, the Brooklyn Museum, the Frick etc. I've only been to broadway once and it was a bit crap, I still don't know how the subway system works, I couldn't recommend you a lovely bistro on the corner that your mother would love because although she swears its foreign and therefore untrustworthy- she actually enjoys a well made but reasonably priced pasta dish after a game of tennis at the club. Plus, she thinks the way the waiters talk is funny and exotic. Maybe a nice spaghetti. Everybody likes spaghetti. 
I'VE FAILED YOU AND YOUR MOTHER. 

Even if i'm just helping a friend, or visiting a museum I want to be able to say I used my time in some way. Knowing me (knowingg yooouuuuu), soon enough the tempting swaths of procrastination and sheer, grotesque laziness may swallow me up and divert me from my path of self improvement. But I care not to entertain this fancy. I am a realistic woman-girl, I know how possible this is but a wise woman-lady once said "its better to start with a plan. Have something to divert from, if you know what I mean" and then she repeated herself a lot, rephrasing and embellishing a bit differently each time. (mum, please don't take me to court for mis-quoting you). 
There it is. My New Years resolution plan idea thing. To make sure I can be proud of the time I spent in NY, and have some actual stories to tell instead of just making up a more exciting version of events like I did with Sandy. Cheeky woman. 
Hamish made me promise to blog about the thing I do each week so I'll keep y'all updated if you care enough to check this page of nonsense from time to time. 
I was going to upload a whole load of pictures with this instalment, but I cant be bothered. 
I blame jet lag. 
I'm like a mini heroine of my own adventure by staying up this late. 
It's 8.07pm. 
If I was a heroine, I'd have a unicorn and a light sabre.

No comments:

Post a Comment